Scout Association logo


What are Cub Scouts?

Cub Scouts are boys and girls between 8 and 10 years old. The Cub section is the next step up from Beavers. The Cub pack is made up of groups of Cubs called Sixes and they are led by a Sixer, usually one of the older Cubs and helped by the Seconder. The Cubs take part in a number of activities throughout the course of a year including the following: Cooking or craft for Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Easter and Christmas. Outdoor evenings in the summer such as playing wide games, tracking, building shelters, and cooking on open fires. The Cub Scout programme is based on the following Programme Zones:

The Cub Promise

I promise that I will do my best,
To do my duty to God and to the Queen,
To help other people,
And keep the Cub Scout Law.

Covering each of these zones throughout the course of a term ensures that there is something for everyone to enjoy in our pack nights.

What do Cub Scouts do?

Cub Scouts pursue “Challenge and Adventure” - be it from swimming the furthest you’ve ever swam, or jumped the highest you’ve ever jumped, being a Cub Scout means you can be the best that you can! Combined with camping, walking and much more, where else can you find this much fun?

Cub Scout logo